» » Benjamin Skepper - In the Field
Benjamin Skepper - In the Field album

Benjamin Skepper - In the Field album

  • Performer: Benjamin Skepper
  • Genre: Electronic / Audio Files / Classical / Screen, Stage
  • Title: In the Field
  • Released: 28 Sep 2013
  • Style: Field Recording
  • Label: contrapuntal
  • Catalog: contrapuntal004
  • Country: Japan
  • MP3 version size: 2581 mb
  • FLAC version size: 1263 mb
  • Rating: 4.3
  • Votes: 764


1Japanese Ascetics2:55
2Burning Pit2:55
3Australian Outback2:56
6Paris Gypsies3:08
7Italian Dream2:48
8Turkish Delight3:00


LIMITED EDITION CD in Gatefold Jacket with artwork

contrapuntal 004

Benjamin Skepper’s fourth Solo album “IN THE FIELD” is a culmination of field recordings taken by the artist over the past six years of world travel.

This album is starkly different to his previous three releases. Always equipped with his sound recorder, Skepper has recorded and collated a vast library of field recordings captured during his voyages around the globe. This album is a journey into site-specific sound as the artist takes us through Japan, Turkey, Italy, Australia and France. Each sound trip features up to 15 field recordings remixed and resampled, drawing on the artist’s critical compositional ability and deep exploration of the intersections between sound and music.

released 28 September 2013

Composed and Produced by Benjamin Skepper
Recorded by Benjamin Skepper in Japan, Turkey, Italy, France and Australia
Engineered and Mastered by Yasuho Matsubara
Art direction and Artwork by Keiji Ito (UFG)
Design by Takamitsu Hatta (UFG)

℗ & © 2013 contrapuntal and Benjamin Skepper
All rights reserved. Unauthorized copying, reproduction, hiring, lending, public performance and broadcasting prohibited.
contrapuntal 004

special thanks to:
my family, Jessica and Jeanette, gate keeper and master milliner Rachel Skepper, Colin, Mr. Tadokoro, Keiji Ito, Takamitsu Hatta, Akira Kubota, Sergio Chiarandini, Di Paolo Piero, Flora Gomez, Tristan Lecomte, Caroline Thomas, Aysu Cogur, Frederic Boux, Fabrizio Caracciolo di Brienza, Yumi Nishikawa, Aki Narushima, Toshiaki Yokozawa, Katsutoshi Soeno.
This album is dedicated to Jesse James.